Summary Report

Abortion Bans

Restrictions on abortion are most often accomplished through prohibiting abortions at specific gestational limits, usually defined in state law by either a certain number of weeks post-fertilization or from a pregnant person's last menstrual period (LMP). Further limitations on abortions in state-level regulation include restrictions based on a pregnant person's reason for seeking an abortion, and bans on certain types of procedures used in late-term abortions.

This dataset is longitudinal, displaying laws regulating abortion bans from December 1, 2018 through October 1, 2021. Additional maps and tables are available by visiting www.lawatlas.org.



Abortion Bans

As of October 1, 2021, 46 states have laws prohibiting the performance of certain abortions.

Jurisdictions: 46 (AL, AK, AZ, AR, CA, CT, DC, DE, FL, GA, ID, IL IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NJ, NM, NV, NH, NC, ND, OH, OK, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, WA, WV, WI, WY)



Fetal Heartbeat Bans

Abortion bans upon detection of a fetal heartbeat increased from two states (IA) as of December 1, 2018 to ten states (AR, GA IA, KY, MS, ND, OH, SC, TN, TX) as of October 1, 2021. All bans on abortion upon detection of fetal heartbeat have either been enjoined or declared unconstitutional since taking effect, and the Texas ban is currently subject to legal challenge.



Trigger Bans

While three states (MS, ND, SD) imposed a trigger ban on abortion as of October 1, 2018, this increased to eleven states (AR, ID, KY, LA, MS, MO, ND, SD, TN, TX, UT) as of October 1, 2021.